Recent Album layout and Wedding album advice for couples

I get alot of my ideas for album layouts by looking at other photographers’  layouts so to keep the sharing going I thought I’d put one of my layouts on my blog. I’ll put some other ones up too, later. I use pixel creator pro to help me with my designs. I find it easier than starting from scratch in photoshop. I like to keep my designs simple and most of the time I start with a black background. I think black brings out the color of the images more.  

Before I post the layout I wanted to talk about ordering an album. I’ve noticed that couples put off choosing the images for their albums for a really long time. I’m not sure why but I would like to get to the bottom of it. In fact, in most cases the only way I can get my clients to pick the images for their albums is by sending them out a notice telling them that I’m going to close out their contract and they’ll lose their album if they don’t order it by a certain date. I’m not sure if it’s because their lives are just really busy, they forget about it, they’re just tired of all the wedding stuff, they are afraid of picking bad images, or a combo of all of these. After spending so much money on an album I would want to get mine right away.

I’m going to give you a few reasons why you shouldn’t wait so long. The first one is because after a year or so has passed the photographer is no longer going to remember your wedding or your personalities anymore. It’s really hard to design an album when you no longer remember who those people were to the couple and how the images are important and relate to each other. The photograper wants your album to tell your story and it’s really hard to do that when you can’t remember the story anymore.

Another reason is that the album you ordered may no longer be available and you may have to pick another one that may be more expensive or not be exactly like the one you originally ordered. Products change constantly and get discontinued. Ordering your album quickly after the wedding insures you’ll get the same album that you originally picked.

The last reason I’m going to give today, even though there are many more, is that prices change. Album companies tend to raise their prices at least once a year and when that happens the photographer has to raise their price too. You may have paid $800 originally but if you wait a year or more to pick your images your photographer may have to add additional costs to you or downgrade your album because of price changes.

My advice to couples is if you have an album in your package, order it soon after the wedding so the above doesn’t happen to you. I would suggest within a few  weeks of the wedding while it’s still fresh in your photographer’s mind.  Because couples take so long picking their images, alot of photographers no longer let couples pick the images for their own albums. The photographer picks them.  Photographers feel that the albums get done quicker that way and that the albums will look better if the photographer picks the images because we pick images that tell the story and not images we feel obligated to put in because of family issues. Anyway, my two cents about albums I hope you find it useful. Enjoy the layout.

Leave a Reply

